Seeking Face

*This is an excerpt from a larger journal entry but I’m sharing my favorite part*

Last night, I had a sorority conference call at 8:00 PM and Little Dude wasn’t asleep yet. I had given him his bath early and he was in his jammies, sitting on the couch with his daddy. He had his VTech tablet, playing a Mickey Mouse game. I figured he would fall asleep before I was off the call because his nap was short that day, but halfway through the call I could hear him crying a cry that sounded as if his heart was broken. Now, he loves his daddy, but when it comes to going to bed, he wants his Mommy. I heard him crying for me and I couldn’t get off the call and comfort him and it made me sad.

When I finally got off the phone, I came back into the living room and he said, “Mommy! You came!” He was so excited that I was back with him. Mind you, I was only tied up for an hour, if that, but he’s in a very clingy stage right now.

I picked him up and the look on his face was pure adoration. He was so happy to have me hold him and kept looking into my face and smiling.

This is love.

This is what is feels like to know unconditional love, to know I am so important in my child’s eyes. I know this won’t last forever…one day, I won’t know anything and will be a total drag. He will grow independent, he will leave me, become a man. But for now, I will cherish this pure adoration. I will ponder these things in my heart. And I will try to look into the face of God with similar love and devotion.

Hear, O Lord, when I cry aloud; be gracious to me and answer me! You have said, “Seek my face.”
My heart says to you, “Your face, Lord, do I seek.” (Psalm 27:7-8)


He wanted a mustache like Daddy

“Mommy, you happy? You a little bit frustrated.”

“Mommy, we are having a DOOD time.”

“I’m a dood helper.”

“Mommy, I love you. And I love Daddy. And Boo and Santa Clause and Jesus.”

“DNA in my body.” (seriously)

3 thoughts on “Seeking Face

  1. Our sweet sweet boy. No matter what trouble he gets into, no matter how mad we act, he is so full of love! I wish we could bottle up these little episodes and smell of them from time to time when he’s grown.

    • His precious little outlook on life makes me feel like a complete craphead for getting so angry with him at times. And most of the time, he’s just being a 2-year-old.

Leave a Reply

